Falling

Hello, I know it has been a while, but here is part three of the box.  If you haven’t read the previous stories here is part 1 and part 2.

“Let me in,” he said hoarsely.

I opened the door and Oswin walked in and took the box and the little world into his hands. The look he gave me was cutting and I didn’t know whether he would ever forgive me. He turned the lock until it clicked and said, “We need to leave quickly.”

We walked briskly down the cold corridor – beige walls, white tiles and fluorescent lights gave the hall an even colder, sterile feeling. We hurried in silence past a window and I noticed that the sky had turned to a dark grey and that a heavy fog was descending on the city.

Oswin looked both ways as we exited the building through a side door, we moved into the deserted alley and listened. Neither of us spoke for a long time. The sky continued to darken over us with a particularly heavy feeling hanging over the building we had just left. Two large shapes passed the alley and we heard their gravely voices speaking a language I had never heard. The creature closest to us lifted his snout into the air and began to catch our fresh scents wafting through the sea of other human odors.

The fog hid us and we continued on away from the mysterious beings. It was weighing down so heavy around us that my skin began to dampen as if I were sweating.

“Where are we going?” I broke the silence.

“My car is in the parking lot near the bridge.”

Movement on a street nearby caused us to run to reach his car faster.  Oswin’s car was just coming into sight through the thick moisture in the air. A looming figure stepped between us and the beat-up Buick and I felt the cold numbness of fear spread through my body. I could hear laughter rumbling from it’s chest and saw a wicked grin creep onto it’s wolfish face. It pointed a sharp claw toward the ground and crouched to touch the pavement.

The road cracked rapidly toward us as we ran in the opposite direction but the growing abyss swallowed us and we started to fall.

(to be continued)

 

About lsanderford

Hello everyone! My name is Noelle. I'm a writer and a teacher. I created this blog as a place to grow in my writing get feedback from other people. I live with my husband and three dogs (they're all really cute). I hope you enjoy reading what I write and I look forward to reading your comments :). Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Fiction, The Box, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Falling

  1. Dalana Middleton says:

    Wow! I’m hooked. Just found out about this and went back to read part 1 and 2. Just finished part 3 and can’t wait for part 4. Awesome!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eric says:

    you must continue now….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: What Hides in the Darkness | Print. Scribble. Scrawl

Leave a Reply

